Using Google Ads can be one of the best and, more importantly, most profitable solutions for your business. This is by no means an exaggeration, as the volumes of users using Google services every day are enormous.
For example, Google search alone is used over 3.5 billion times a day. And if you use the Google Ads service, then each such search becomes an opportunity for you to increase leads, conversions, and sales.
How does Google Ads work?
In simple terms, without going into too much detail, Google Ads is a paid advertising platform. The principle of its work is simple and has not changed since its inception.
It works on the basis of keywords, just like search engines. For example, when a user searches for some keyword, he gets a result.
This result is called a search engine results page (SERP). And often SERP in the first lines of the issue shows exactly the sites whose advertising is paid for in Google Ads.
However, buying ads on Google does not necessarily guarantee the first place. After all, you will most likely have many other marketers competing for the same keyword through Google Ads.
Google Ads operates on a pay-per-click (PPC) model. This means that marketers choose a specific keyword on Google and bid on that keyword, competing with other users who also choose that keyword. The bids you make are “maximum bids”-or the maximum value you are willing to pay for an ad.
How does Google Ads Pay Per Click work?
For example, if your maximum bid is $4 and Google determines that your CPC is $2, you’ll get that placement. If they decide it’s more than $4, you won’t get that ad. In addition, you can set a maximum daily budget for your ad.
You will never spend more than a certain amount per day on these ads, which will help you get a better idea of how much the budget for your digital ad campaign is worth. Marketers have three bidding options:
- Cost Per Click (CPC). Payment for each user’s click.
- Cost Per Mile (CPM). Payment for 1,000 ad impressions.
- Cost Per Engagement (CPE). Payment for every specific action on your ad (subscription, watching the video, and so on).
Google then takes the bid amount and compares it to your ad’s score, which is called Quality Score. Quality Score is a measure of the quality of your ads, keywords, and landing pages. Higher quality ads can lead to lower prices and better ad positions.
The number of points varies from 1 to 10, where 10 is the best result. The higher your score, the higher your ranking, and the less you will have to spend on conversion.
Your Quality Score, combined with your bid amount, forms your Ad Rank, the position where your ad will appear on the search results page.
When a user sees an ad and clicks on a link in it, the marketer, accordingly, pays for this user’s action. This approach is based on a simple idea.
The more users click on a link in an ad, the greater the chance that the ad task will be completed. For example, a certain number of potential buyers will come to a web resource.
How and why monitor websites for Google Ads campaigns?
Every website owner wants to always be confident in the effectiveness of advertising campaigns. Therefore, when launching a campaign, everyone wants to make sure that nothing will interfere with its work. However, even the most reliable websites become unavailable from time to time.
And if your website is unavailable for some reason, Google systems will automatically make a decision on your advertising campaign. That is, all ads will be blocked because the resource advertised in them will not be available for scanning by the Google Ads parser.
Also, ads will be blocked if the landing page works with errors or is incorrectly configured. Such errors include 403 (access denied), 404 (page not found), internal server errors, etc.
At the same time, the restoration of the advertising campaign will be possible only manually. And only after the links to your website in the ads are rechecked. And this, in turn, takes a lot of time.
On the other hand, minor website failures, such as partial or complete unavailability of content, may go unnoticed by Google systems.
This means that users who click on advertising links will get to a website that is not fully functional. Or, worse, they will click on “dead links” to an empty website.
Thus, even a short-term problem can halt an ads campaign for a long period of time. There are several reasons for this. First, the problem will need to be quickly localized and eliminated. Secondly, you will need to make a recovery request.
And thirdly, you will need to wait for the rechecking of links and the execution of the request.
Best way to control Google Ads via website monitoring
The situations described above are examples of various reasons why a website needs to remain stable.
There are many more reasons to monitor a website. Indeed, even a short-term unplanned shutdown or slowdown of the website leads to significant financial losses, in addition to overpayments for a non-working advertising campaign. New clients stop coming. What’s more, old users and customers start leaving almost instantly.
Therefore, it is very important to make sure that the website is running smoothly, stable, and has a high access speed. Therefore, it is up to the website owner or webmaster to ensure that the website is constantly monitored.
In such situations, it is better to use online monitoring services, such as HostTracker, instead of classic tools. Therefore, regardless of who is monitoring the website, it is better to use a full set of tools, such as the HostTracker service.
This service performs this procedure from over 140 different locations around the world, allowing for the most accurate diagnosis. At the same time, the system works completely automatically, that is, it does not depend on the webmaster.
And going back to the question of Google Ads, HostTracker includes a tool to monitor and manage your Google Ads subscription, among other tools. This service automatically suspends the subscription as soon as the website has performance or loading speed problems.
Thanks to this, the owner of the website will not overpay for the time of inoperability of certain functions of the website.
And also will not wait for the restoration of the advertising campaign. Because the subscription will automatically renew as soon as the website is up and running again.